The 50th Anniversary of the historic Bigelow building

Our History

On the site of the Bigelow previously stood another hotel, the five-story Reed Hotel (built in 1891). A. Peery, a local businessman, decided to build a modern hotel in its place. A corporation with 300 shareholders was organized for the funding and management of the project. The hotel was originally named for local banker, Archie P. Bigelow. It was one of only 3 “Grand Hotel’s” in Utah.

Marriner S. Eccles acquired the Bigelow Hotel in 1933 and renamed it the Ben Lomond Hotel. It remained a functional hotel for more than 40 years. Several owners, including Weber County, have used it for different purposes, including offices. Radisson purchased the hotel in the 1980s and refurbished it.

Most recently, the Ben Lomond Suites was purchased and converted into apartments and rebranded back to it’s original name, The Bigelow. This apartment conversion continues today however with so much rich history with events, the Bigelow continues to host weddings and other great events with it’s historic ballroom and parlor spaces!